ocTEL introductory post and big question

Task: post a short summary about yourself and your experiences with technology enhanced learning.

My name is Gemma Holtam. I work as a Tutorial Learning Mentor (TLM) and Advanced Practitioner in Information Learning Technology (ILT) at Barnsley College.

As a TLM I teach a careers module where I use a number of ILT tools including voting systems, blogging applications and video creating software. As an Advanced Practitioner in ILT I am interested in developing the use of ILT to support and enhance teaching and learning for dyslexic students. This interest has developed from my own experiences as a dyslexic student and how technology has revolutionised the way I learn. This has included using audio recording equipment to record lectures so that I am able to go over them after class making note of any content that I missed or have already forgotten. I also use screen tinting software so that I am able to reduce the visual stress when using my laptop and using iBooks and the notability application to make note taking a lot less stressful.

This is the second time that I have participated in a MOOC so I’m hoping to enjoy the experience a lot more compared to my first experience. I’m expecting not to participate in every module but to dip in and out of the bits that interest me. I also expect that most of my learning will take place after the course has finished during the times when I’m able to sit down and read through the posts that I had previously missed. My main motivations for taking this course are to connect with other educators who are interested in TEL and to gain a few ideas that I can use in my own practice.

Dyslexia text

How a dyslexic might see text

Task – Reflecting on your own work experience and ambitions for developing your teaching,  what is the most important question about TEL for you?

How can technology be embedded in to everyday teaching and learning to support and enhance the needs of dyslexic students as well as the other students in the class?

Leave a Reply

